Are You Really Unique? Here’s How to Ensure That You Are

*I recognise that this post may come across as offensive. I don’t mean it that way at all, so read to the end and be objective when taking in the message. I do apologise in advance if I do anger or upset anyone, and they can speak to me if they want further explanation*

memestache.com_166416_1334332807.jpg

**Also it’s a bit lengthy, but only because of my examples so bare with me!**

Hello, I hope my opening message hasn’t put anyone off, instead it’s probably excited you to see what horrible things I’m going to say! But I’m not horrible, or judgemental, you all should know that by now. I’m simply someone who likes to think. I like to ask myself questions, and because of my age (and my over-thinking tendencies) I always question who I am, and what I want.

questionmark.jpg

I’ve never wanted to be the same as everyone else. I’ve wanted to be accepted and liked by people, don’t get me wrong. But never have I wanted to change myself and be normal if it meant going against who I was, what I believed in, or if I’d become a copy and paste of someone else.

copy-paste.jpg

DON’T BE A COPY AND PASTE OF SOMEONE ELSE.

You know the phrase, “Everyone is unique”? I’m sorry but I don’t believe that. Yes, we are all born in different ways, to different parents, in different parts of the world etc., but we’re not all wholly unique. Don’t take this as a sad thing, because I’ve got my own phrase to share with you… ‘We are all born with the ability to be unique’.

‘WE ARE ALL BORN WITH THE ABILITY TO BE UNIQUE’

aid111355-728px-Be-Unique-Step-2-Version-2.jpg

The only difference is, some people accept the norm. They accept being the same because it’s easy or because they fall into life’s mundane routine. But I want to be unique, and if you do, too, here’s how.

Let’s use me as an example (as I am right now). Of course, I can only use myself as an example, and I know I’m not wholly unique, yet.

So let’s start:

I’m a Mixed Race Female – Of course, there’s millions of mixed race females in the world, so by just being this, I’m nowhere near unique.

Mixed Race Female -> British – Again, there’s a lot of mixed females in Britain.

Mixed Race Female -> British -> Jamaican & Irish Decent – Still pretty common, a very common blend for mixed individuals in Britain.

Mixed Race Female -> British -> Jamaican & Irish Decent -> Lower end of privilege (working class, single parent home)  – Even this is common, socio-economics prove that this is a very common thing.

Mixed Race Female -> British -> Jamaican & Irish Decent -> Lower privilege -> College educated, and a year of a degree – As I live in England, we are able to leave school aged 16 after our GCSEs. But I didn’t. I got good GCSE grades, then went onto do the International Baccalaureate Diploma, where I did rather well, before completing a year at university; receiving a certificate, and then leaving (at least for now). This makes me a bit more unique, as the IB is a diploma that isn’t known by many. But still this isn’t enough.

Mixed Race Female -> British -> Jamaican & Irish Decent -> Lower privilege ->Decent education -> Work in retail – This what most people do at some point in their life, especially between 16-22 like I have. So, not unique.

Mixed Race Female -> British -> Jamaican & Irish Decent -> Lower privilege -> Decent education -> Work in retail -> I now have red hair – Finally we’re starting to become less unique, because the first things about me, were things out of my control or obvious things to do when growing up. But now that I’m making my own choices, I can start to become more unique. However, a lot of girls in this day and age are experimenting with bright hair colours, so I’m still not unique.

Mixed Race Female -> British -> Jamaican & Irish Decent -> Lower privilege ->Decent education -> Work in retail -> Red hair -> Lifestyle Blogger – I’m starting to get the numbers down now, of the amount of people who are exactly the same as me (on paper). But I reckon the numbers are still pretty high.

Mixed Race Female -> British -> Jamaican & Irish Decent -> Lower privilege -> Decent education -> Work in retail -> Red hair -> Lifestyle Blogger -> Photographer – Again, this isn’t niche enough. A lot of bloggers are photographers too, especially in this new online, modern world we live in.

Mixed Race Female -> British -> Jamaican & Irish Decent -> Lower privilege -> Decent education -> Work in retail -> Red hair -> Lifestyle Blogger -> Photographer -> Mental health Advocate – I now speak and write for mental health, along with actively helping those suffering. Not many can say this, who I know personally, but I still think there’s a lot of people who do.

Mixed Race Female -> British -> Jamaican & Irish Decent -> Lower privilege -> Decent education-> Work in retail -> Red hair -> Lifestyle Blogger -> Photographer -> Mental health Advocate -> Anxiety & Depression Sufferer – I think the percentage becomes less when we consider actual sufferers who speak and advocate on the behalf of the mentally ill. It’s often successful non-sufferers or organisations who do.

Mixed Race Female -> British -> Jamaican & Irish Decent -> Lower privilege -> Decent education -> Work in retail -> Red hair -> Lifestyle Blogger -> Photographer -> Mental health Advocate -> Anxiety & Depression Sufferer -> Nerd (in a sense, depends on who you are) – I included this because it’s a big part of who I am. I love films, binging on shows and discussing them and fangirling over them. I have posters and merchandise from my favourites, even into adulthood. I’m proud of this, and I think it’s a big part of my uniqueness. Yes, a lot of people are “nerds” too, but if people look at me, and what I do, they wouldn’t guess straight-away that I love these things and play games. Therefore, I’m a little bit more unique.

Mixed Race Female -> British -> Jamaican & Irish Decent -> Lower privilege -> Decent education -> Work in retail -> Red hair -> Lifestyle Blogger -> Photographer -> Mental health Advocate -> Anxiety & Depression Sufferer -> Nerd -> Care about my Looks – This may seem like a small one, but again it’s important in my life. I love clothes, dressing nice,and I try to work out when I can. I’m starting to care about my hair and face more, too, now. Again with the things said about me before, it wouldn’t be obvious that I care about these things – therefore more unique.

Mixed Race Female -> British -> Jamaican & Irish Decent -> Lower privilege -> Decent education -> Work in retail -> Red hair -> Lifestyle Blogger -> Photographer -> Mental health Advocate -> Anxiety & Depression Sufferer -> Nerd  – Look good -> Author (fantasy, essays and self-help genres) – Finally, I’m near unique. I can’t say I know anyone else with this link of traits/interests. Not many I know are authors, nevermind with all the other things attached to my life.

If we walked in the streets, how many people could you say would fit this same description as me? Not many? Right, because I’m close to being unique. There’s still little things that I’ve left out, too, like I’m tattooed, into sports, like drawing, a sensitive person and in a relationship with someone born in Zimbabwe. These things add to my uniqueness.

Do-more.jpg

This is where you question whether you are. Maybe you’ve just finished university, well now’s the time to make your “Life’s Portfolio” or “Life’s Resume” shine. Don’t just be someone who graduates, then goes into the job you wanted and that’s it. So many others have done that before you! There’s nothing wrong with it, but if you want to wholly say that you’re unique, and feel different to your peers, then you need to do more with your life.

You-are-never-too-old-to-set-abother-goal-or-to-dream-a-new-dream-.jpg

I intend to keep going. To make my portfolio stand out amongst others. Be a teacher if you want, but also help the homeless on the weekends and have a vacation home in France. And don’t think because you’re a worldly traveller that you’re unique, either. I’m sorry, but you’re not. A lot of people have travelled the world because it’s becoming easier and easier to do it now. Instead, go somewhere that no one has been before. And speak about it. Share your story through words and videos, and then share it specifically with people who feel like life isn’t worth living. That is putting what you know to use. That is how you become a good person, and beautifully unique because you’re inspiring and helping people in new ways.

homepage_slider_1.png

Here’s some last tips:

  1. Think outside the box.
  2. Put what you know to good use.
  3. Always try new things.
  4. Listen to the stories of others.
  5. Think of new ways to give back and help others.
  6. Be creative.
  7. Use your degree in more ways than one.
  8. Once you’ve done all that you wanted to do, it’s OK to start a new dream and achieve something else.
  9. Don’t settle for less than or ordinary.
  10. Seek more from life; but more importantly, seek more from yourself.

I hope no one is offended by this post. I hope instead that you’re inspired by it. You can be unique, it’s not that hard, you just have to want it. Keep trying new things, a make a better, more interesting you. Write down your own links like I have to see how close you are to ultimate individuality!

~ Damsel